Class of 2018 selects leaders

The sophomore class reporting team includes:


Sophomore Class

In the coming weeks, SGA has been preparing for the election period. Elections started on April 4 and there were two people running for sophomore class secretary. The ballots only showed one person running, Arlette Hawkins. The other person running for sophomore class secretary, Angelena Castro, was not elected.

Hawkins is the youngest of five children, and she has always been surrounded with people that have gone headstrong with all of their goals. Her brother served as class president at Morgan State University. Seeing her brother be successful only made her want to do the same.

In high school Hawkins was senior class secretary where she served a great term. She and her team were able to plan exciting things for the senior class. She initiated a senior trip, that for a long time had not been done. She plans to do similar things at A&T.

Hawkins is taking her role as sophomore class secretary at A&T seriously. She is not doing this for a resume or for popularity. She really enjoyed serving as senior class secretary when she was in high school, and she assures people that although serving on college SGA is a bit harder she has faith in her capabilities.

Unfortunately the passing of Hawkins father at the age of 14 really put her drive into gear. She worked hard to ensure that her mother would not have to pay for her tuition when she went off to college. Hawkins graduated high school with an advanced diploma, cosmetology license, and over $200,000 in scholarships for college.

Hawkins wants people to know that, “If elected sophomore class secretary, I will bring more than a pen, paper and a few ideas to the table; I will bring influential change and growth to a class.”

There are three great young men who are currently freshman that are running to become Mister Sophomore. Each individual brings their own personality and style to the platform of being Mr. Sophomore. Kendall Mack is not a new face to royal court. He currently serves as Mister Freshman. He is looking for a back to back reign. His c

Campaign is “It’s better to be empowered than empower. Empower yourself, empower your peers, and empower our community.” When asked why do you want to be Mister Sophomore, he responded “because I am already community service oriented and I believe I can influence my class as well as possibly the whole school to start and engaging in more community service projects that will to make Greensboro a better place. “

Alex Bailey is from High-Point, NC and his platform is restoring the aggie way achieving great goals in everything. “Restoring The Aggie Way is my vision and goal to restore the rising sophomore class to the trends of classes before through community service, community engagement and class recognition”, said Mr. Bailey.

Derek J. Edwards is from Charleston, SC. His platform is “Get On Scene” which is designed to throw the spotlight on you, The Class of 2019. Mr. Edwards stated in an interview, “since my childhood I always wanted to serve my community, be a leader, and inspire others to pursue greatness. Leading to a new chapter in my life while advancing my education by enrolling to the illustrious North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University. Last semester I took on the task to break my barriers and run for Mr. Freshman! Although the outcome was not in my favor I have an ambitious mentality. Never give up on your dreams.

NC A&T SU produces successful black men in abundance. These three are just an example of what is to come. Yet again, another tight competition for royal.

Rules and guidelines are very strict while campaigning. You have to have all signatures on the petition before submitting your application. You cannot miss or be late to meetings without a valid excuse. You cannot post any flyers on anything without it being approved. The following candidates were disqualified for not complying to all rules and guidelines: Cortina Mosley for treasurer, Kara Bradley for secretary, Kamaria Bush and Amber Davis for Miss Sophomore, and Daron Harris for Mister Sophomore.

For the 2016-2017 school year, your Mister and Miss Sophomore is Derek Edwards and Kamaria Bush. David Kimbro is the Sophomore Class President. The Class of 2018 has a strong team and plans to work together to produce great things for next school year.


SGA Election Coverage by Group 4 can be found below using the hashtag












Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s